Rated 4.9 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Great customer service! Thanks Rick!

Rated 5 out of 5
November 8, 2022

This is a company that takes ownership of their customer service. Rick was quick to help me get what I needed for a WS500 setup for my coach and got my order processed quickly.

After receiving the order (with a missing temp sensor that was supposed to be included with he wiring harness) Rick got a replacement shipped out immediately at no cost.

Then I found that there wasn’t a terminator included with the Wakespeed/Victron crossover cable, Rick didn’t hesitate to get it shipped out to me.

These issues weren’t OGSS’s issues, but caused by Wakespeed, but instead of telling me to contact Wakespeed he just took care of the issue.

That’s how you do customer service. I wish everyone would do the same.

Avatar for David Wertz
David Wertz

Response from Off Grid & Marine Energy Systems

Wow, thank you so much. 🙂

Best of luck with your project!

2021 Bali 5.4 Catamaran WS500

Rated 5 out of 5
July 19, 2022

I installed lithium batteries in my catamaran and had to find a solutions to regulate the main engine alterntors.

Rick was amazing in helping me choose the right setup for my vessel.

Thanks Rick, absolutely excellent service!

Avatar for Heinrych
Heinrych

Response from Off Grid & Marine Energy Systems

Glad we were able to help. Best of luck with your project!

Great customer service

Rated 5 out of 5
April 5, 2022

Rick was wonderful setting me up with parts for a project for a film studio. He was able to provide quick advice for a part that wasn’t functioning as expected and recommended a replacement part quickly. I’m happy they are carrying the REC BMS and have them in stock! It’;s a very solid system that’s easy to interface with!

Avatar for Jeff
Jeff

Response from Off Grid & Marine Energy Systems

Thanks for your kind words! I am glad we were able to help get you fixed up and running.

Easy to use website

Rated 5 out of 5
March 25, 2022

Fair prices for what I needed and easy to make sure I got all the accessories I needed due to the format of the product page.

Avatar for Brian
Brian

Response from Off Grid & Marine Energy Systems

Thanks Brian, we are working now to make it easier to find the right product for your application.

Great customer service!

Rated 5 out of 5
January 10, 2022

OGSS was there to answer all of my pre-order questions and their communication response time is top notch. Great people to work with and I’ll be ordering from them again in the future.

Avatar for Matt Digan
Matt Digan

Response from Off Grid & Marine Energy Systems

Thanks Matt!

REC-Wifi unit inoperable

Rated 3 out of 5
November 3, 2021

I purchased the rec-wifi on the advice of and the REC website. I could not log into the wifi unit referencing the product manual. I found many individuals were having the same problem through a web search. In the end, I purchased the pc software which allowed for me to change the parameters associated with my specific system. My understanding is that one cannot do what with the wifi system. The touch pad also just displays information, it does not allow one to alter the bms parameters.

Avatar for Tom McDonagh
Tom McDonagh

Response from Off Grid & Marine Energy Systems

Hi Tom, sorry you had issues with the WiFi module. Early versions did have some issues but not recently and your situation seemed unusual. Hopefully Tine at REC was able to get your WiFi working for you in the end. The WiFi module, when working, will actually provide all needed functionality but you are correct, the LCD screen is for viewing only.

Excellent Service and quick delivery!

Rated 5 out of 5
September 27, 2021

Had to clarify a few things before we placed the order, Rick was very responsive and helpful. Will definitely buy again in the future.

Avatar for Kilroy Bus
Kilroy Bus

Response from Off Grid & Marine Energy Systems

Thanks and glad we could help. After a few hiccups our new warehouse and shipping team is really coming together!

Definitely buy all of your gear from Rick

Rated 5 out of 5
September 17, 2021

Five stars all the way. Rick was very helpful throughout the process, and I’m already telling people to get their gear from him and OGSS. You can’t go wrong!

Avatar for Van Gogh (van build name)
Van Gogh (van build name)

Response from Off Grid & Marine Energy Systems

Thanks for the kind words! Glad we got you sorted and thanks for your testing and feedback!

Efficient and prompt

Rated 5 out of 5
May 5, 2021

Recently purchased wakespeed alternator and was impressed with the prompt service and order fulfillment. The unit was well packaged and using USPS for delivery here in Western Canada saved me the typical huge customs brokerage fees that ups and fedex charge.

Avatar for Phil clatk
Phil clatk

Great Support

Rated 5 out of 5
April 3, 2021

Purchased REC 16s BMS from Off Grid Marine Energy systems and did not purchase the current sensor wiring harness, I emailed asking if it was meant to be included and they threw it in for free. When I had questions about shipment they were answered in a timely and polite manner.

Avatar for Zak Crawford
Zak Crawford

Great service and support!

Rated 5 out of 5
March 29, 2021

Trying to get an SMA SI to talk with a BMS has been a Challenge. Rick was a great help in getting me there.

Avatar for Bob
Bob

extremely fast delivery

Rated 5 out of 5
March 17, 2021

Outstanding fast service – in answering questions as well as in shipping to Europe – very impressive indeed!

Avatar for Robin
Robin

Awesome service and support !

Rated 5 out of 5
March 1, 2021

Rick gave us just the best possible service while setting up our LiFePO4 system with the WS500.

Thank you

F.

Avatar for Fred
Fred

Ws500

Rated 5 out of 5
February 8, 2021

Recommended seller. Great pre AND POST sales service. Thank you Rick and everybody on your team. Cheers Chris

Avatar for Christian
Christian

Great Service

Rated 5 out of 5
October 10, 2020

I am on a cruising boat currently in Aruba, and hoped to upgrade our charging system here due to favourable customs duties on imports. My purchase went awry when Defender.com informed me they couldn’t deliver the alternator I ordered. I couldn’t find a replacement at this time so I had to cancel my order for a WS500 from Off Grid (I had placed the order right after ordering the alternator). Rick was very helpful in trying to find another source for the alternator, and providing information on what I would need to install it. When the only option turned out to be a size up in amperage (that I couldn’t use) and $$$ I balked. Rick refunded my money without hesitation. I will eventually get a WS500 from Off Grid, when Balmar restocks and when I know where I will be in a months time.

Avatar for Robin S/V Toboggan
Robin S/V Toboggan

Response from Off Grid & Marine Energy Systems

Thanks for your kind words Robin, I am just sorry we couldn’t pull it together for you. We will keep a watch out for availability and hopefully we will get you fixed up in a few months.

A big shout out

Rated 5 out of 5
March 30, 2020

A big shout out for Rick Bell of offgridsoftwaresolutions.com

His knowledge and patience helping a novice install and commission a Wake Speed WS500 after a lightening strike wiped out the old charging system (alternators, Balmars, wiring the lot) has been refreshing in this day and age.

I am very grateful to him (especially during this Covid-19 shutdown)and the other technicians from offgridsoftwaresolutions for helping me problem solve a charging issue caused by a declined magnetic core.

A simple fix if you know what you are doing but I clearly don’t so very frustrating for him but thank you from me.

Avatar for Richard s/v Por Dos
Richard s/v Por Dos

Response from Off Grid & Marine Energy Systems

Richard, we are just glad you got everything working. It can be hard to remotely troubleshoot, but your detailed testing and pictures really helped the process!

Love my new WS500's

Rated 5 out of 5
January 22, 2020

I’ve used the WS500 Configuration tool to setup my dual WS-500 regulators and to tune and monitor things the first few months. I love being able to see the alternator temperature along with the output all on a graph. This software also helps a ton in configuring the WS-500 which has a wealth of options, but can be overwhelming to configure at the command line. The WS500 Configuration software makes that much easier. You can read all about it in my full review at https://seabits.com/wakespeed-ws-500-regulator-review/

Avatar for Steve
Steve

Response from Off Grid & Marine Energy Systems

Steve, thanks for your support and the detailed review in SeaBits. This should help others make an informed decision!

SHARE YOUR CART